Tuesday, October 26, 2010

SEO Basics:On Page Optimization



It takes more than just good content to get your website ranked well by search engines. Your site has probably not ranked well enough till now only because your site was not very “understandable” to the search engines. Let’s say there has been a communication gap in between the two. However, it is not an irreversible state… this is a very common problem and can easily be corrected with some ‘On-page Optimization’

1. Start with keyword research
What is keyword research? Keyword research is the practice of finding relevant search terms and phrases that people use in conducting searches online and determining the keywords most suited to your website.
So let’s start with your site, since your website targets used car buyers, what words would they type in the search engine? Note down your keywords. It probably includes ‘Buy used cars’, ‘Used cars on sale’, ‘Price of used cars’ etc.
After compiling a list of probable keywords/phrases that your target audience might use in the search engines, you can go one step further & use some great keyword research tools available online.

2. Website Structure
Every website’s coding structure is divided in to two parts: a Head and a Body. If you are thinking that I am going to teach you coding and programming, I’m not! Rather, I am just going to explain how you can tweak certain elements in each of these sections to your advantage:
The Invisible <HEAD> Portion
The HEAD is like a cover page of a book which gives direct information about its content. The HEAD consists of multiple tags with the Title and Meta tags being the more important ones.
• Title: The title is what appears on the top of your browser, giving brief information about the page. The title is important because the search engines use it to determine the theme & context of the site, the same way we read the title of a book to know what it’s about. For instance, if you had concluded from your keyword research that the terms ‘Used cars’ & ‘Buy used cars’ would be your target terms, your title could perhaps be ‘Buy Used Cars at Low Prices: 1000s of Used Cars for Sale’, rather than an indirect title like ‘We offer the best rides’. However, don’t overuse the keyword, we have used the terms ‘Used cars’ just twice & in proper context. A combination of keywords put together like ‘Used cars, buy cars, sell cars’ could be considered spammy.Another reason why you wouldn’t want to stuff your title with just keywords & make it user friendly is because the title is what is displayed by the search engines when showing your site in the search results.

• Meta tags:
a. Meta keywords is a tag that is no longer considered as important by the search engines but it is still considered good practice to optimize. It’s a tag which contains a list of your target key terms for that page. E.g.
b. Meta description is a brief snippet about the contents of the page that could be used by the search engine when displaying your site details in the search results. If you do not give a meta description, you have no control over what the search engines will display when showing your results.

The Visible Portion
The BODY in html consists of everything that is visible to people who open your website. Think of it like the actual content of a book with many pages. There are multiple elements in the BODY which you would want to consider tweaking.
• Headings: Heading tags (H1, H2 tags) are used to label your headline and are considered important information by search engines. Search engines assume that headings give an idea about the theme of the page and are thought to be given slightly more importance than the page content itself. It should be carefully chosen and injected with relevant keywords.
• Content: You want to make sure you include the right keywords in the contents of your page. You want to ensure you include similar words and phrases through out the content while ensuring it’s not overdone. Again, if your page targets “used cars”, you might want to distribute the keywords “used cars” through out the page while at the same time also including other similar keywords like “old cars” and “second sale cars”. Using similar keywords through out also helps. Although it’s very important to remember that while writing your content, you want to first focus on writing for your end user and making the content most appealing to them. Only once that objective is achieved, then you can try incorporating these changes in your content to suit the the search engines while ensuring you’re not compromising on the quality of the content.
Some of us also get so caught up in making our site attractive, forgetting that search engines cannot read Flash animations. So if you want to have a Flash based website, you want to make sure you also include a non-flash version for the search engines to read (some of your users as well might prefer viewing a non-flash version).

Optimizing your Internal Linking Structure: Internal linking allows users to navigate to other sections of your website. Internal linking plays a crucial role in page ranking. Use relevant anchor text, with keywords of course, to link to other pages of your website, but only if it’s relevant.
For example, if your website is offering offers on select models, you can include, “More cars for sale” instead of, “To avail offers go to: www.usedcars.com”. Clicking on ‘cars for sale’ will take them directly to the page.
• Do not leave images unattributed: Search engines can read only text, not images. By using alt attribute in your image tags, you can describe images with text, letting search engines detect images which are otherwise left ignored. When an internet user looks for images on search engines like Google image search, only websites that have textual descriptions of images will show up. For example: if you have a picture of an Audi, make sure you enter the name ‘Audi’ for the picture. The search engines might not be able to view the picture, but they will know that you have a picture of an Audi in your site through the tag.
3. Other Things to Consider
• URLs should be informative to search engines: Uniform Resource Locator is the unique address used to locate documents on the World Wide Web. Keywords in page URL helps it to get noticed by search engines. Each page of your site has a different address called URL. For example, the URL for your website may be www.usedcars.com and the URL for its web page can be www.usedcars.com/porche/carrera.html. Avoid using random text and numbers like www.usedcars.com/wrqew11/022vds.html. This doesn’t tell search engines anything about the contents of the page. Short URLs often work best, but if it is not possible, use relevant words separated with hyphens (‘-‘).
• Stop being inactive: Update your website regularly with unique content. Don’t just update content, but keep adding more pages to your website. Search engines are looking for fresh, updated information and changes are being made by the minute on the internet.
Common mistakes you can avoid:
Now, don’t think you know how to do on-page optimization by reading the above mentioned points. You don’t want to be one of the many whose fall is caused by ignorance, no no! There are many mistakes that people make while doing on-page optimization. I have listed them below for your benefit… so that you do not make the same mistakes.
1. No space for copycats: Copying content from other websites is a no-no. It’s not only unethical but search engines can detect content duplication in a jiffy and filter it out, bringing your ranking down. Websites like www.copyscape.com help to track copied content.
2. No cheating: Hiding text using the same color as the background or placing them behind images are old tricks. You can fool visitors but not search engines. Avoid keyword stuffing, as mentioned earlier.
You probably didn’t realize that the changes you would need to make would be this simple. On-page optimization can take you a long way in getting noticed by the search engines. So if you have not implemented these changes already, do it now! You can thank me later when the search engines keep coming back to your site!

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Thursday, October 21, 2010

How to Increase Organic (Free) Traffic Of a Website




When you get search traffic naturally from the various search engines it is called organic traffic. This is primarily done by using a technique called SEO. SEO is an acronym for search engine optimization, and there are certain, well-recognized first steps for SEO that will serve to gain you substantial organic traffic from natural searches by humans typing them into the popular engines.

It should be immediately obvious to you why gaining this organic traffic is beneficial to your site. If you want your work recognized or want visitors to your site without having to pay for advertising, the best way and most sustainable method is by the use of the popular search engine optimization steps. They should be put to use in any article, website, or blog you write. If you do not use these methods your success at capturing targeted, organic traffic from the search engines will be limited or nonexistent.

Tips For Getting Organic Traffic

1. Include relevant content, relevant to your page description and Meta keywords.
2. Instead of changing your URL or redirecting from your old URL to your new URL, follow Google's procedure on URL changes to make sure your new site doesn't get skipped, or just avoid URL changes if you can.
3. Don't post duplicate content on your site, so if you quote another page only include a small excerpt and don't repeat your own content on multiple pages.
4. Avoid flash, even though it looks cool, flash and animated banners and intros annoy visitors and search engine bots don't read them.
5. Submit to quality directories.
6. Make sure your robot.txt files are not blocking destination URLs that you do not want blocked.
7. Choose your Meta keywords wisely and include them in your content.
8. Strive to obtain quality links into your site.
9. If you use icon or image links, include a text link.
10. If you operate an affiliate site, make your site a valuable resource, so people chose your site rather than go straight to your affiliate.
11. Add a site map.
12. Don't use link schemes.
13. Write specific content, so searches can find applicable results. Instead of writing "books," write "medical text books" or "organic cookbooks"; be specific.
14. If you include low quality links on your site, block them from being scanned by Googlebot.
15. Don't break up your content too much, like loads of banner ads and so on in the middle or your text, irritates readers and bots.
16. Write unique and compelling content.
17. Don't forget to include your page descriptions.
18. Don't bury text content in images.
19. Look for un-indexed URLs, URL with more than a few parameters or dynamic links, they may be skipped.
20. Stay up-to-date on SEO, your strategies need to constantly evolve.
21. Deliver what you promise, don't drive readers to inapplicable or irrelevant pages.
22. Carefully consider your titles, make sure to include targeted keywords.
23. Don't forget humor or other devices that attract and keep readers.
24. Add text links with anchor links.
25. Keep links out and in up-to-date.
26. Start a blog or forum if it makes sense on your site.
27. Join BBB or your local Chamber of Commerce or other reputable business associations.
28. Submit articles to respectable and active article sites.
29. Add Alt tags to images for people that disable images.
30. Validate and 508 your site for accessibility.
31. Submit your business description to Wikipedia or other popular information sites.
32. Consider adding maps or mashups.
33. Submit to multiple search engines.
34. Consider marketing some of your subpages or articles that have less competition.
35. Don't forget good old-fashion PR.
36. Start a little controversy.
37. Consider adding an RSS feed.
38. Write "top ten" lists, which are popular with article search sites.
39. Build a good site that others want to link to.
40. Eliminate grammar and spelling errors.
41. Publish a privacy policy.
42. Send out press releases when it makes sense.
43. Avoid hidden text and links.
44. Keep your content up-to-date.
45. Don't employ redirects or "cloaking."
46. Don't create pages with bad content, like viruses, trojans, malware and so on.
47. Steer clear of empty, unoriginal affiliate pages.
48. Make sure every page is assessable through at least on static text link.
49. Use text, instead of images to relate important content.
50. Check for broken links.
51. Don't put too many links on one page, even if it is a resource page, keep it well under 100.
52. Test out your site with a text browser.
53. Be leery of badly placed session IDs and arguments.
54. Employ the IF-Modified-Since HTTP header to let Google know if your content has changed.
55. Don't use "&id=" as a URL parameter, they are not indexed.
56. Avoid deceptive or manipulative techniques.
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Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Advantages of SEO Services



Most of people on Internet like to use search engines to search of a specific product or service. You product listing should be on top pages in major search engines. You can take services from SEO service providers to achieve specific target. SEO advantages includes targeting traffic, increase brand visibility, increase in sales etc. Keywords optimization plays significant role in making your best choice. SEO is very much cost effective method of marketing. Other advantages of SEO include best usability, browser compatibility and accessibility. Better SEO services will increase in sales and to increase your business services, affiliate business and credibility. SEO services can also increase your confidence and authority as well. Many search engines list websites for free however some of them extra top listings. SEO service providers can help you to get in top listings. If SEO services are implemented effectively then it can increase target traffic to your site and rank your site for long term basis as well. There are many SEO techniques are there and you can choose one best service from them. Any of these methods can be used to rank your website. However an ongoing SEO campaign must be used to get target result from your website.

  • Traffic concerned
    SEO can increase the number of visitors who seek your service or product actively.
  • Promotion that doesn 'sleep of T
    Imagine to have your own company of sale and promotions working exclusively just for you! One which functions 24 hours over 24,7 days per week, 365 days each year. That 's the advantage of SEO!
  • Increase the visibility of mark
    SEO can give to your mark a high international profile - and for comparatively low expenditure.
  • High KING
    Hammer for book, dollar for the dollar, SEO brings a higher return to you on your investment than any comparable form of marketing.
  • Higher sales
    SEO can mean greater sales of your product or service.
  • Faster and smaller pages
    The correctly validated and optimized files will be smaller and thinner, meaning less requests/overheads for server and faster times of remote loading.
  • Long-term positioning
    Once places from there, a site correctly conceived and optimized remains long-term in the rows compared with the PC where the costs and the expenditure are continuous and unforeseeable.
  • Profitable
    SEO is among the most profitable manners of marketing.
  • Accessibility
    To observe significant procedures of optimization can make your site more accessible to all the users.
  • Compatibility of Cross-navigator
    A site correctly optimized also almost like possible will be validated with the elevated levels. This means that it should function in all the navigators of W3C-compliant, meaning that your site can be looked by the greatest potential number of visitors.
  • Navigable by the engines
    All the bonds should function correctly and all the pages should be accessible to the engines, of this fact making your site easy for the engines to correctly index and classify by category.
  • Profitability
    To observe the basic directives of optimization should mean that the visitors have more pleasant experience of user.
  • No need to start more
    We should be able to work with your existing design.
  • Fast execution
    SEO can start rather because we have access of ftp to your site - or even front if we make a bond campaign.
  • Short-term results
    You should start to see a positive difference in weeks if not.
  • No need for aesthetic compromise
    Your site should maintain its glance distinctive and feel front, during and after optimization.
  • Integrate with your existing site
    The major part of the work of optimization will be in the slides, gained you 'notification of it.


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Friday, October 8, 2010

Introduction to digital media




There are six main types of digital media channels or communications tools which marketers should review when developing their online media plans. This document gives a short introduction to each technique with examples.

1. Search engine marketing (SEM)

  • Search engine marketing (SEM) – placing messages on a search engine encouraging clickthrough to a web site when the user types a specific keyword phrase.
The two main disciplines are Search engine optimisation (SEO) to boost a companies position in the natural search listings and Paid search marketing which uses sponsored ads typically on a Pay Per Click (PPC) basis.
Search marketing is great for targeting audiences at the moment of intent. It can help create a level playing field where small companies are listed alongside well-known brands to increase their awareness and drive response. That’s if the small companies can get SEO right or afford to compete in paid search.
Ultralase example of SEM.


Definition for Search engine optimisation (SEO): A structured approach used to increase the position of a company or its products in search engine natural or organic results listings for selected keyword phrases. Main techniques involve targeting keyphrases to rank within site copy and through linking strategies. No cost per click!
Definition for Pay Per Click (PPC) search marketing, e.g. Google AdWords A relevant text ad with a link to a company page is displayed when the user of a search engine types in a specific phrase. A fee is charged for every click of each link, with the amount bid for the click and its Quality Score determining its position. Trusted feed is the uploading of product data to a Product Comparison engine such as Google Product Search (Froogle).

2. Online PR

  • Online PR – Maximising favourable mentions of your company, brands, products or web sites on a range of third party web sites such as media sites, social networks and blogs, which are likely to be visited by your target audience.
Online PR can offer a low-cost route to increase awareness of your brand, it can also help attract visitors and increases backlinks to a site, which is useful for SEO.
Definition for Online PR Maximising favourable mentions of your company, brands, products or web sites on third party web sites which are likely to be visited by your target audience. Includes use of blogs (online diaries, RSS (Really Simple Syndication feeds) and Web 2.0 social media techniques (C2C = Customer to Customer). Also requires managing negative comments about a company within social networks by monitoring and responding as appropriate. Closely related to viral marketing.

3. Online partnerships

  • Online Partnerships - Creating and managing long term arrangements to promote your online services on third party web site or e-mail communications. Different forms of partnership include link building, affiliate marketing, online sponsorship and co-branding.
Smart online marketers realise the value of partnerships in extending their reach into their audiences via other sites.
Ultralase example of affiliate marketing
This affiliate is a forum discussing laser eye surgery. It is prominent in the natural listings. Ultralase has a banner on every page as shown, helping awareness and driving response.

 Definition for Affiliate marketing A commission based arrangement where referring sites (publishers) receive a commission on sales, leads or visits by merchants (retailers)’.

4. Interactive advertising

  • Interactive advertising - Use of online display ads such as banners, skyscrapers and rich media ads to achieve brand awareness and encourage clickthrough to a target site.
Ultralase example of Online advertising
Ultralase advertises extensively online. They have found that if they reduce spend it reduces awareness resulting in poorer results from natural search.

Ultralase Advertising
  • Definition for Interactive advertising* All types of advertising through the Web, wireless and interactive television. Interactive advertising can include banners, site sponsorships, email ads, PPC search engine ads and classified ads.
Definition for Online sponsorship Linking of a brand with related content or context through sponsored graphical or text links for the purpose of creating brand awareness, favourability and/or response.

5. Email Marketing

  • Opt-in e-mail – Renting opt-in e-mail lists, placing ads in third-party e-newsletters, making deals with third parties for co-registration or co-branding of e-mails, or building your own in-house e-mail list and sending e-newsletters or email campaigns.
The main aims of email marketing for acquisition is to generate awareness of brands or offerings or direct response to achieve registration or leads.
Definition for Email marketing The use of outbound email marketing to achieve awareness, add value or achieve response

6. Viral marketing

  • Viral marketing – Viral marketing is effectively online word of mouth – messages are forward to help achieve awareness. The message either contains or has a link to a site containing videos, pictures, games, jokes, information
Definition Online viral marketing Word of mouth, online. Viral marketing uses a powerful offer to be transmitted amongst a network of people via electronic media to reach a large audience cost effectively to generate prospects, build brand awareness and so increase sales

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Thursday, October 7, 2010

What is Robots.txt




Robots.txt

It is great when search engines frequently visit your site and index your content but often there are cases when indexing parts of your online content is not what you want. For instance, if you have two versions of a page (one for viewing in the browser and one for printing), you'd rather have the printing version excluded from crawling, otherwise you risk being imposed a duplicate content penalty. Also, if you happen to have sensitive data on your site that you do not want the world to see, you will also prefer that search engines do not index these pages (although in this case the only sure way for not indexing sensitive data is to keep it offline on a separate machine). Additionally, if you want to save some bandwidth by excluding images, stylesheets and javascript from indexing, you also need a way to tell spiders to keep away from these items.

One way to tell search engines which files and folders on your Web site to avoid is with the use of the Robots metatag. But since not all search engines read metatags, the Robots matatag can simply go unnoticed. A better way to inform search engines about your will is to use a robots.txt file.

What Is Robots.txt?

Robots.txt is a text (not html) file you put on your site to tell search robots which pages you would like them not to visit. Robots.txt is by no means mandatory for search engines but generally search engines obey what they are asked not to do. It is important to clarify that robots.txt is not a way from preventing search engines from crawling your site (i.e. it is not a firewall, or a kind of password protection) and the fact that you put a robots.txt file is something like putting a note “Please, do not enter” on an unlocked door – e.g. you cannot prevent thieves from coming in but the good guys will not open to door and enter. That is why we say that if you have really sen sitive data, it is too naïve to rely on robots.txt to protect it from being indexed and displayed in search results.

The location of robots.txt is very important. It must be in the main directory because otherwise user agents (search engines) will not be able to find it – they do not search the whole site for a file named robots.txt. Instead, they look first in the main directory (i.e. http://mydomain.com/robots.txt) and if they don't find it there, they simply assume that this site does not have a robots.txt file and therefore they index everything they find along the way. So, if you don't put robots.txt in the right place, do not be surprised that search engines index your whole site.

The concept and structure of robots.txt has been developed more than a decade ago and if you are interested to learn more about it, visit http://www.robotstxt.org/ or you can go straight to the Standard for Robot Exclusion because in this article we will deal only with the most important aspects of a robots.txt file. Next we will continue with the structure a robots.txt file.
Structure of a Robots.txt File

The structure of a robots.txt is pretty simple (and barely flexible) – it is an endless list of user agents and disallowed files and directories. Basically, the syntax is as follows:

User-agent:

Disallow:

“User-agent” are search engines' crawlers and disallow: lists the files and directories to be excluded from indexing. In addition to “user-agent:” and “disallow:” entries, you can include comment lines – just put the # sign at the beginning of the line:

# All user agents are disallowed to see the /temp directory.

User-agent: *

Disallow: /temp/
The Traps of a Robots.txt File

When you start making complicated files – i.e. you decide to allow different user agents access to different directories – problems can start, if you do not pay special attention to the traps of a robots.txt file. Common mistakes include typos and contradicting directives. Typos are misspelled user-agents, directories, missing colons after User-agent and Disallow, etc. Typos can be tricky to find but in some cases validation tools help.

The more serious problem is with logical errors. For instance:

User-agent: *

Disallow: /temp/

User-agent: Googlebot

Disallow: /images/

Disallow: /temp/

Disallow: /cgi-bin/

The above example is from a robots.txt that allows all agents to access everything on the site except the /temp directory. Up to here it is fine but later on there is another record that specifies more restrictive terms for Googlebot. When Googlebot starts reading robots.txt, it will see that all user agents (including Googlebot itself) are allowed to all folders except /temp/. This is enough for Googlebot to know, so it will not read the file to the end and will index everything except /temp/ - including /images/ and /cgi-bin/, which you think you have told it not to touch. You see, the structure of a robots.txt file is simple but still serious mistakes can be made easily.

Tools to Generate and Validate a Robots.txt File

Having in mind the simple syntax of a robots.txt file, you can always read it to see if everything is OK but it is much easier to use a validator, like this one: http://tool.motoricerca.info/robots-checker.phtml. These tools report about common mistakes like missing slashes or colons, which if not detected compromise your efforts. For instance, if you have typed:

User agent: *

Disallow: /temp/

this is wrong because there is no slash between “user” and “agent” and the syntax is incorrect.

In those cases, when you have a complex robots.txt file – i.e. you give different instructions to different user agents or you have a long list of directories and subdirectories to exclude, writing the file manually can be a real pain. But do not worry – there are tools that will generate the file for you. What is more, there are visual tools that allow to point and select which files and folders are to be excluded. But even if you do not feel like buying a graphical tool for robots.txt generation, there are online tools to assist you. For instance, the Server-Side Robots Generator offers a dropdown list of user agents and a text box for you to list the files you don't want indexed. Honestly, it is not much of a help, unless you want to set specific rules for different search engines because in any case it is up to you to type the list of directories but is more than nothing.
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Important Tips For Creating a Seo friendly website




Step 1. Website analysis - analyse your website thoroughly before publishing it.


Step 2. Keyword Research - use Google Adwords to find good keywords with low competition.


Step 3. Google Webmaster Tools account - setup & monitor progress.


Step 4. Add Emphasis with Header Tags - try to use h1-h5 header tags to make content stand out.


Step 5. Bold font - make important things stand out by making them bold.


Step 6. Canonicalization - avoid duplicate content using Google's new meta tag.


Step 7. Competition Analysis - check out what your competition has.


Step 8. CSS Validation - make sure your CSS is perfect before publishing.


Step 9. HTML Code Clean Up & Optimization - make it perfect!


Step 10. Image & Hyper link Optimization - very important that your hyper links are accurate and descriptive.


Step 11. Link Validation - validate every internal link on your site!


Step 12. Meta Description Tag Optimization - make your description short, informative and to the point.


Step 13. Meta Keywords Tags Optimization - Google do not actually use the meta keywords tag what so ever so save yourself some time and don't make one!

Step 14. Navigation & Design Optimization - if your navigation is faulty, people won't use your site.

Step 15. PR Sculpting - PR is really not that important if you don't care about link juice.

Step 16. Robots.txt Optimization - use Google web master tools if you don't know how to make a robots.txt


Step 17. Title Tag Optimization - remember that the title is what Google will display for your search results!


Step 18. URL Rewrite - use important keywords in the links itself!

Step 19. W3C Validation - validate your sites content!


Step 20. Link Development - develop backlinks to improve your own PR and ranking.
Post on forums such as this one, Digital Point and V7N to receive easy backlinks.

Step 21. Check Broken Links - ensure that you don't have broken links (dead links)!


Step 22. Directory Submissions - submit your site to directories for easy backlinks!


Step 23. Internal Link Structuring - use a hierarchical structure for your folders if you don't know otherwise!


Step 24. Manual Link Request to Related Sites - swap links with your competition!

Step 25. One way links - purchase one way links from PR4 sites or greater.
Directories - Easy to find, easy to buy links on!

Step 26. Count Backlinks - ensure your backlinks are steadily increasing using a backlink checker.


Step 27. Local Search Engine Optimization - make sure that Google list your site locally if you are a local business!

Step 28. Website Usability & Conversion - calculate your conversion rate, then improve it.
Number of visitors divided by the number of sales eg. 100 visitors and 5 sales = 100/5 = 5% conversion rate.

Step 29. Installing Usability Tools on Website - easier it is, the more likely users will return!

Step 30. Monthly Website Conversion Tracking - ensure your website is working and profitable!
Number of visitors divided by of sales eg 50 visitors and 5 sales = 50/5 = 10% conversion rate.

Step 31. Optimization for Multiple Browsers - it may look good in your browser but not in others.


Step 32. Article Submission - submit articles containing your link to article directories!

Step 33. Blog Comment on Relevant Blogs - high PR blogs are a great source of backlinks.

Step 34. Blog Designing for the website - create a blog about your website and fill it with content.

Step 35. Blog Submission - submit your blog to directories and ping it ever once and a while.


Step 36. Classified submission - submit your site to free classified ads!


Step 37. Create Promotional pages on hub pages - quick and easy!


Step 38. Social Network Marketing - take advantage of groups catered to your niche.


Step 39. Paid Submission - pay someone to submit your site to directories for you!


Step 40. Press Release - create a press release and submit it.


Step 41. RSS Feeds - submit RSS feeds!


Step 42. Social Bookmarking - Pligg sites are a great way to get quick backlinks for free.


Step 43. Video Submission - use videos on sites such as youtube to promote your site or product!


Step 44. Content Writing & Optimization - optimize your content for your keywords/niche.

Step 45. Blog Writing - fill your blog with quality information.

Step 46. Content Modification - if someone else's is better, beat them with better content.

Step 47. Website Spell Check - this is crucial, never publish without a spell check first!


Step 48. XML Site Map Creation & Submission - create a sitemap and upload if to your site then submit it to the search engines!


Step 49. Check server headers - make sure people can access your site without errors.


Step 50. Check Search Engine Road Blocks - web master tools will inform you of crawling errors.


Step 51. Check PR of site to see how you are doing!

10 Important Web Design Tips For a SEO Friendly Website

1. Avoid creating menu on the left-hand side of a website. If unavoidable, an alternative way is to put some text with rich keywords at the top or above the left-hand menu so that this text will be the first thing to read by search engines.
2. Headlines are rated more important than the rest of the web page by search engines. To take advantage of this, you should have your keywords in the page headline. Since the header tag (h1) is quite large, you should format it to make it smaller.
3. Every page should contain the "title" and "description" tags with good keywords to describe the page content. The number of words for the title should not exceed 9 and that for the description should not be more than 20 words in order to keep within the limits of most search engines.
4. Try not to use Flash when possible. Flash cannot be read by the search engines to date and will cause slow page loading time and makes people run away
5. Think twice on how to use graphics. Make them relevant to your content and use an Alt tag containing the relevant keyword(s).
6. Do not only use images to link out. You should always use text links to link out to important content on your web site. Spiders can follow image links, but like text links more though.
7. Avoid using frames. Some search engines cannot spider web pages with frames at all. For the other search engines that can, they can have problems spidering it and sometimes they too cannot index the web page.
8. Avoid using too complex tables when laying out your page but to keep them simple for the spiders. There are some engines which find it difficult to navigate through to the other pages on your website if the navigation bar is too complicated.
9. Use external Cascading Style Sheets and Java Script files to reduce page size and make the download time much faster. It will allow the spider to index your web page faster and can help your ranking.
10. Use standard HTML. Software such as FrontPage, Dreamweaver or a WYSIWYG editor will often add unnecessary scripting codes that will make the page larger than it needed and make it harder to crawl. It will sometimes add codes that can't be read by search engines, causing the spider not to index the page or not index the whole web page. If to use, you should use those web page creator software wisely with a good understanding of html.

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10 Ways to Get Traffic




Getting traffic is one of the most important tasks for any web master. What is more, you can't get traffic once and then just reap the benefits. Getting traffic is an ongoing task and you must be constantly doing it, if you want to get traffic and keep it. Here are some of the ways to get traffic for free:


1 Optimize your site for search engines.


Search engines have always been a major way to get traffic for free. That is why you need to do your homework and optimize your site so that it ranks well for the keywords you target. SEO is still the most powerful way to get traffic for free and you really need to invest some time and efforts in the optimization of your site. SEO is not that difficult and if you want to get familiar with it in a nutshell, check our SEO Tutorial. If you are too busy for that, you can start with the 15 Minute SEO article.


2
Frequently update the contents of your site. .


If you expected some shocking secrets revealed, you might be a bit disappointed. One of the first steps in getting traffic for free is trivial but vital – get great content and frequently update it. In terms of SEO, content is king. If your content is good and frequently updated you will not only build a loyal audience of recurring visitors, who will often come to see what is new, but search engines will also love your site.


3 Take advantage of social bookmarking sites.


Social bookmarking sites (especially the most popular among them) are another powerful way to get traffic for free. If you want to learn how to do it, check the How to get Traffic from Social Bookmarking sites article, where we have explained what to do if you want to get free traffic from sites such as Digg, Delicious, etc.


4 Use your Twitter and Facebook accounts.


Social networks are also a way to get traffic for free. If you are popular on networks, such as Twitter or Facebook, the traffic you get from there can easily surpass the traffic from Google and the other search engines. It is true that building a large network of targeted followers on Twitter and supporters on Facebook takes a lot of time and effort but generally the result is worth.


5 Get links with other sites in your niche.


Another way to get traffic for free is from other sites in your niche. Getting links with other sites in your niche is also good for SEO, especially if you manage to get links without the famous nofollow attribute. But even if the links are nofollow (i.e. they are useless for SEO), they still help to get traffic to your site. If you manage to put your link in a visible place on a site with high volumes of traffic, you can get thousands of hits from this link alone. If you need list of sites within your niche where you could get backlinks from, check the Backlink Builder tool. However, be careful if you exchange links because linking to bad neighbors can do you a lot of harm.


6 Use any chance to promote your site for free.


Free promotion is always welcome, so don't neglect it. There are many ways to promote your site for free and some of the most popular ones include free classified ads, submissions to directories, inclusion in various listings, etc. It is true that not all free ways to promote your site work well but if you select the right places to promote your site for free, this can also result in tons of traffic.


7 Create a free product or service.


Content drives most traffic when you offer something useful. There are many types of useful content you can create and they largely depend on the niche of your site. You can have articles with tons of advice, or short tips but one of the most powerful ways to get traffic is to create a free product or service. When this product or service gets popular and people start visiting your site, chances are that they will visit the other sections of the site as well.


8 Use viral content.


Free products and services are great for getting free traffic to your site and one of the best varieties in this aspect is viral content. Viral content is called so because it distributes like a virus – i.e. when users like your content, they send it to their friends, post it on various sites, and promote it for free in many different ways. Viral content distributes on its own and your only task is to create it and submit it to a couple of popular sites. After that users pick it and distribute it for you. Viral content can be a hot video or a presentation but it can also be a good old article or an image.


9 Use offline promotion.


Offline promotion is frequently forgotten but it is also a way to get traffic for free. Yes, computers are everywhere and many people spend more time online than offline but still life hasn't moved completely on the Web. Offline promotion is also very powerful and if you know how to use it, this can also bring you many visitors. Some of the traditional offline ways to promote your site include printing its URL on your company's business cards and souvenirs or sticking it on your company vehicles. You can also start selling T-shirts and other merchandise with your logo and this way make your brand more popular.


10 Include your URL in your signature.


URLs in forum signatures are also a way to get traffic for free. There are forums, which get millions of visitors a day and if you are a popular user on such a forum, you can use this to get traffic to your site. When you post on forums and people like your posts, they tend to click the link to your site on your signature to learn more about you. In rare cases you might be able to post a deep link (i.e. a link to an internal page of the site) rather than a link to your homepage and this is also a way to focus attention to a particular page. Unfortunately, deep links are rarely allowed.


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Tuesday, October 5, 2010

How to Build Backlinks



It is out of question that quality backlinks are crucial to SEO success. More, the question is how to get them. While with on-page content optimization it seems easier because everything is up to you to do and decide, with backlinks it looks like you have to rely on others to work for your success. Well, this is partially true because while backlinks are links that start on another site and point to yours, you can discuss with the Web master of the other site details like the anchor text, for example. Yes, it is not the same as administering your own sites – i.e. you do not have total control over backlinks – but still there are many aspects that can be negotiated.

Getting Backlinks the Natural Way

The idea behind including backlinks as part of the page rank algorithm is that if a page is good, people will start linking to it. And the more backlinks a page has, the better. But in practice it is not exactly like this. Or at least you cannot always rely on the fact that your contents is good and people will link to you. Yes, if your content is good and relevant you can get a lot of quality backlinks, including from sites with similar topic as yours (and these are the most valuable kind of backlinks, especially if the anchor text contains your keywords) but what you get without efforts could be less than what you need to successfully promote your site. So, you less than what you need to successfully promote your site. So, you will have to resort to other ways of acquiring quality backlinks as described next.

Ways to Build Backlinks

Even if plenty of backlinks come to your site the natural way, additional quality backlinks are always welcome and the time you spend building them is not wasted. Among the acceptable ways of building quality backlinks are getting listed in directories, posting in forums, blogs and article directories. The unacceptable ways include inter-linking (linking from one site to another site, which is owned by the same owner or exists mainly for the purpose to be a link farm), linking to spam sites or sites that host any kind of illegal content, purchasing links in bulk, linking to link farms, etc.

The first step in building backlinks is to find the places from which you can get quality backlinks. A valuable assistant in this process is the Backlink Builder tool. When you enter the keywords of your choice, the Backlink Builder tool gives you a list of sites where you can post an article, message, posting, or simply a backlink to your site. After you have the list of potential backlink partners, it is up to you to visit each of the sites and post your content with the backlink to your site in it.

You might wonder why sites as those, listed by the Backlink Builder tool provide such a precious asset as backlinks for free. The answer is simple – they need content for their site. When you post an article, or submit a link to your site, you do not get paid for this. You provide them for free with something they need – content – and in return they also provide you for free with something you need – quality backlinks. It is a free trade, as long as the sites you post your content or links are respected and you don't post fake links or content.

Getting Listed in Directories

If you are serious about your Web presence, getting listed in directories like DMOZ and Yahoo is a must – not only because this is a way to get some quality backlinks for free, but also because this way you are easily noticed by both search engines and potential visitors. Generally inclusion in search directories is free but the drawback is that sometimes you have to wait a couple of months before you get listed in the categories of your choice. 

Forums and Article Directories 

Generally search engines index forums so posting in forums and blogs is also a way to get quality backlinks with the anchor text you want. If the forum or blog is a respected one, a backlink is valuable. However, in some cases the forum or blog administrator can edit your post, or even delete it if it does not fit into the forum or blog policy. Also, sometimes administrators do not allow links in posts, unless they are relevant ones. In some rare cases (which are more an exception than a rule) the owner of a forum or a blog would have banned search engines from indexing it and in this case posting backlinks there is pointless.
While forum postings can be short and do not require much effort, submitting articles to directories can be more time-consuming because generally articles are longer than posts and need careful thinking while writing them. But it is also worth and it is not so difficult to do.

Content Exchange and Affiliate Programs

Content exchange and affiliate programs are similar to the previous method of getting quality backlinks. For instance, you can offer to interested sites RSS feeds for free. When the other site publishes your RSS feed, you will get a backlink to your site and potentially a lot of visitors, who will come to your site for more details about the headline and the abstract they read on the other site.
Affiliate programs are also good for getting more visitors (and buyers) and for building quality backlinks but they tend to be an expensive way because generally the affiliate commission is in the range of 10 to 30 %. But if you have an affiliate program anyway, why not use it to get some more quality backlinks?

News Announcements and Press Releases

Although this is hardly an everyday way to build backlinks, it is an approach that gives good results, if handled properly. There are many sites (for instance, here is a list of some of them) that publish for free or for a fee news announcements and press releases. A professionally written press release about an important event can bring you many, many visitors and the backlink from a respected site to yours is a good boost to your SEO efforts. The tricky part is that you cannot release press releases if there is nothing newsworthy. That is why we say that news announcements and press releases are not a commodity way to build backlinks. 


Backlink Building Practices to Avoid

One of the practices that is to be avoided is link exchange. There are many programs, which offer to barter links. The principle is simple – you put a link to a site, they put a backlink to your site. There are a couple of important things to consider with link exchange programs. First, take care about the ratio between outbound and inbound links. If your outbound links are times your inbound, this is bad. Second (and more important) is the risk that your link exchange partners are link farms. If this is the case, you could even be banned from search engines, so it is too risky to indulge in link exchange programs.

Linking to suspicious places is something else that you must avoid. While it is true that search engines do not punish you if you have backlinks from such places because it is supposed that you have no control over what bad guys link to, if you enter a link exchange program with the so called bad neighbors and you link to them, this can be disastrous to your SEO efforts. For more details about bad neighbors, check the Bad Neighborhood article. Also, beware of getting tons of links in a short period of time because this still looks artificial and suspicious.  








 

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Tuesday, October 26, 2010

SEO Basics:On Page Optimization



It takes more than just good content to get your website ranked well by search engines. Your site has probably not ranked well enough till now only because your site was not very “understandable” to the search engines. Let’s say there has been a communication gap in between the two. However, it is not an irreversible state… this is a very common problem and can easily be corrected with some ‘On-page Optimization’

1. Start with keyword research
What is keyword research? Keyword research is the practice of finding relevant search terms and phrases that people use in conducting searches online and determining the keywords most suited to your website.
So let’s start with your site, since your website targets used car buyers, what words would they type in the search engine? Note down your keywords. It probably includes ‘Buy used cars’, ‘Used cars on sale’, ‘Price of used cars’ etc.
After compiling a list of probable keywords/phrases that your target audience might use in the search engines, you can go one step further & use some great keyword research tools available online.

2. Website Structure
Every website’s coding structure is divided in to two parts: a Head and a Body. If you are thinking that I am going to teach you coding and programming, I’m not! Rather, I am just going to explain how you can tweak certain elements in each of these sections to your advantage:
The Invisible <HEAD> Portion
The HEAD is like a cover page of a book which gives direct information about its content. The HEAD consists of multiple tags with the Title and Meta tags being the more important ones.
• Title: The title is what appears on the top of your browser, giving brief information about the page. The title is important because the search engines use it to determine the theme & context of the site, the same way we read the title of a book to know what it’s about. For instance, if you had concluded from your keyword research that the terms ‘Used cars’ & ‘Buy used cars’ would be your target terms, your title could perhaps be ‘Buy Used Cars at Low Prices: 1000s of Used Cars for Sale’, rather than an indirect title like ‘We offer the best rides’. However, don’t overuse the keyword, we have used the terms ‘Used cars’ just twice & in proper context. A combination of keywords put together like ‘Used cars, buy cars, sell cars’ could be considered spammy.Another reason why you wouldn’t want to stuff your title with just keywords & make it user friendly is because the title is what is displayed by the search engines when showing your site in the search results.

• Meta tags:
a. Meta keywords is a tag that is no longer considered as important by the search engines but it is still considered good practice to optimize. It’s a tag which contains a list of your target key terms for that page. E.g.
b. Meta description is a brief snippet about the contents of the page that could be used by the search engine when displaying your site details in the search results. If you do not give a meta description, you have no control over what the search engines will display when showing your results.

The Visible Portion
The BODY in html consists of everything that is visible to people who open your website. Think of it like the actual content of a book with many pages. There are multiple elements in the BODY which you would want to consider tweaking.
• Headings: Heading tags (H1, H2 tags) are used to label your headline and are considered important information by search engines. Search engines assume that headings give an idea about the theme of the page and are thought to be given slightly more importance than the page content itself. It should be carefully chosen and injected with relevant keywords.
• Content: You want to make sure you include the right keywords in the contents of your page. You want to ensure you include similar words and phrases through out the content while ensuring it’s not overdone. Again, if your page targets “used cars”, you might want to distribute the keywords “used cars” through out the page while at the same time also including other similar keywords like “old cars” and “second sale cars”. Using similar keywords through out also helps. Although it’s very important to remember that while writing your content, you want to first focus on writing for your end user and making the content most appealing to them. Only once that objective is achieved, then you can try incorporating these changes in your content to suit the the search engines while ensuring you’re not compromising on the quality of the content.
Some of us also get so caught up in making our site attractive, forgetting that search engines cannot read Flash animations. So if you want to have a Flash based website, you want to make sure you also include a non-flash version for the search engines to read (some of your users as well might prefer viewing a non-flash version).

Optimizing your Internal Linking Structure: Internal linking allows users to navigate to other sections of your website. Internal linking plays a crucial role in page ranking. Use relevant anchor text, with keywords of course, to link to other pages of your website, but only if it’s relevant.
For example, if your website is offering offers on select models, you can include, “More cars for sale” instead of, “To avail offers go to: www.usedcars.com”. Clicking on ‘cars for sale’ will take them directly to the page.
• Do not leave images unattributed: Search engines can read only text, not images. By using alt attribute in your image tags, you can describe images with text, letting search engines detect images which are otherwise left ignored. When an internet user looks for images on search engines like Google image search, only websites that have textual descriptions of images will show up. For example: if you have a picture of an Audi, make sure you enter the name ‘Audi’ for the picture. The search engines might not be able to view the picture, but they will know that you have a picture of an Audi in your site through the tag.
3. Other Things to Consider
• URLs should be informative to search engines: Uniform Resource Locator is the unique address used to locate documents on the World Wide Web. Keywords in page URL helps it to get noticed by search engines. Each page of your site has a different address called URL. For example, the URL for your website may be www.usedcars.com and the URL for its web page can be www.usedcars.com/porche/carrera.html. Avoid using random text and numbers like www.usedcars.com/wrqew11/022vds.html. This doesn’t tell search engines anything about the contents of the page. Short URLs often work best, but if it is not possible, use relevant words separated with hyphens (‘-‘).
• Stop being inactive: Update your website regularly with unique content. Don’t just update content, but keep adding more pages to your website. Search engines are looking for fresh, updated information and changes are being made by the minute on the internet.
Common mistakes you can avoid:
Now, don’t think you know how to do on-page optimization by reading the above mentioned points. You don’t want to be one of the many whose fall is caused by ignorance, no no! There are many mistakes that people make while doing on-page optimization. I have listed them below for your benefit… so that you do not make the same mistakes.
1. No space for copycats: Copying content from other websites is a no-no. It’s not only unethical but search engines can detect content duplication in a jiffy and filter it out, bringing your ranking down. Websites like www.copyscape.com help to track copied content.
2. No cheating: Hiding text using the same color as the background or placing them behind images are old tricks. You can fool visitors but not search engines. Avoid keyword stuffing, as mentioned earlier.
You probably didn’t realize that the changes you would need to make would be this simple. On-page optimization can take you a long way in getting noticed by the search engines. So if you have not implemented these changes already, do it now! You can thank me later when the search engines keep coming back to your site!

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Thursday, October 21, 2010

How to Increase Organic (Free) Traffic Of a Website




When you get search traffic naturally from the various search engines it is called organic traffic. This is primarily done by using a technique called SEO. SEO is an acronym for search engine optimization, and there are certain, well-recognized first steps for SEO that will serve to gain you substantial organic traffic from natural searches by humans typing them into the popular engines.

It should be immediately obvious to you why gaining this organic traffic is beneficial to your site. If you want your work recognized or want visitors to your site without having to pay for advertising, the best way and most sustainable method is by the use of the popular search engine optimization steps. They should be put to use in any article, website, or blog you write. If you do not use these methods your success at capturing targeted, organic traffic from the search engines will be limited or nonexistent.

Tips For Getting Organic Traffic

1. Include relevant content, relevant to your page description and Meta keywords.
2. Instead of changing your URL or redirecting from your old URL to your new URL, follow Google's procedure on URL changes to make sure your new site doesn't get skipped, or just avoid URL changes if you can.
3. Don't post duplicate content on your site, so if you quote another page only include a small excerpt and don't repeat your own content on multiple pages.
4. Avoid flash, even though it looks cool, flash and animated banners and intros annoy visitors and search engine bots don't read them.
5. Submit to quality directories.
6. Make sure your robot.txt files are not blocking destination URLs that you do not want blocked.
7. Choose your Meta keywords wisely and include them in your content.
8. Strive to obtain quality links into your site.
9. If you use icon or image links, include a text link.
10. If you operate an affiliate site, make your site a valuable resource, so people chose your site rather than go straight to your affiliate.
11. Add a site map.
12. Don't use link schemes.
13. Write specific content, so searches can find applicable results. Instead of writing "books," write "medical text books" or "organic cookbooks"; be specific.
14. If you include low quality links on your site, block them from being scanned by Googlebot.
15. Don't break up your content too much, like loads of banner ads and so on in the middle or your text, irritates readers and bots.
16. Write unique and compelling content.
17. Don't forget to include your page descriptions.
18. Don't bury text content in images.
19. Look for un-indexed URLs, URL with more than a few parameters or dynamic links, they may be skipped.
20. Stay up-to-date on SEO, your strategies need to constantly evolve.
21. Deliver what you promise, don't drive readers to inapplicable or irrelevant pages.
22. Carefully consider your titles, make sure to include targeted keywords.
23. Don't forget humor or other devices that attract and keep readers.
24. Add text links with anchor links.
25. Keep links out and in up-to-date.
26. Start a blog or forum if it makes sense on your site.
27. Join BBB or your local Chamber of Commerce or other reputable business associations.
28. Submit articles to respectable and active article sites.
29. Add Alt tags to images for people that disable images.
30. Validate and 508 your site for accessibility.
31. Submit your business description to Wikipedia or other popular information sites.
32. Consider adding maps or mashups.
33. Submit to multiple search engines.
34. Consider marketing some of your subpages or articles that have less competition.
35. Don't forget good old-fashion PR.
36. Start a little controversy.
37. Consider adding an RSS feed.
38. Write "top ten" lists, which are popular with article search sites.
39. Build a good site that others want to link to.
40. Eliminate grammar and spelling errors.
41. Publish a privacy policy.
42. Send out press releases when it makes sense.
43. Avoid hidden text and links.
44. Keep your content up-to-date.
45. Don't employ redirects or "cloaking."
46. Don't create pages with bad content, like viruses, trojans, malware and so on.
47. Steer clear of empty, unoriginal affiliate pages.
48. Make sure every page is assessable through at least on static text link.
49. Use text, instead of images to relate important content.
50. Check for broken links.
51. Don't put too many links on one page, even if it is a resource page, keep it well under 100.
52. Test out your site with a text browser.
53. Be leery of badly placed session IDs and arguments.
54. Employ the IF-Modified-Since HTTP header to let Google know if your content has changed.
55. Don't use "&id=" as a URL parameter, they are not indexed.
56. Avoid deceptive or manipulative techniques.
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Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Advantages of SEO Services



Most of people on Internet like to use search engines to search of a specific product or service. You product listing should be on top pages in major search engines. You can take services from SEO service providers to achieve specific target. SEO advantages includes targeting traffic, increase brand visibility, increase in sales etc. Keywords optimization plays significant role in making your best choice. SEO is very much cost effective method of marketing. Other advantages of SEO include best usability, browser compatibility and accessibility. Better SEO services will increase in sales and to increase your business services, affiliate business and credibility. SEO services can also increase your confidence and authority as well. Many search engines list websites for free however some of them extra top listings. SEO service providers can help you to get in top listings. If SEO services are implemented effectively then it can increase target traffic to your site and rank your site for long term basis as well. There are many SEO techniques are there and you can choose one best service from them. Any of these methods can be used to rank your website. However an ongoing SEO campaign must be used to get target result from your website.

  • Traffic concerned
    SEO can increase the number of visitors who seek your service or product actively.
  • Promotion that doesn 'sleep of T
    Imagine to have your own company of sale and promotions working exclusively just for you! One which functions 24 hours over 24,7 days per week, 365 days each year. That 's the advantage of SEO!
  • Increase the visibility of mark
    SEO can give to your mark a high international profile - and for comparatively low expenditure.
  • High KING
    Hammer for book, dollar for the dollar, SEO brings a higher return to you on your investment than any comparable form of marketing.
  • Higher sales
    SEO can mean greater sales of your product or service.
  • Faster and smaller pages
    The correctly validated and optimized files will be smaller and thinner, meaning less requests/overheads for server and faster times of remote loading.
  • Long-term positioning
    Once places from there, a site correctly conceived and optimized remains long-term in the rows compared with the PC where the costs and the expenditure are continuous and unforeseeable.
  • Profitable
    SEO is among the most profitable manners of marketing.
  • Accessibility
    To observe significant procedures of optimization can make your site more accessible to all the users.
  • Compatibility of Cross-navigator
    A site correctly optimized also almost like possible will be validated with the elevated levels. This means that it should function in all the navigators of W3C-compliant, meaning that your site can be looked by the greatest potential number of visitors.
  • Navigable by the engines
    All the bonds should function correctly and all the pages should be accessible to the engines, of this fact making your site easy for the engines to correctly index and classify by category.
  • Profitability
    To observe the basic directives of optimization should mean that the visitors have more pleasant experience of user.
  • No need to start more
    We should be able to work with your existing design.
  • Fast execution
    SEO can start rather because we have access of ftp to your site - or even front if we make a bond campaign.
  • Short-term results
    You should start to see a positive difference in weeks if not.
  • No need for aesthetic compromise
    Your site should maintain its glance distinctive and feel front, during and after optimization.
  • Integrate with your existing site
    The major part of the work of optimization will be in the slides, gained you 'notification of it.


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Friday, October 8, 2010

Introduction to digital media




There are six main types of digital media channels or communications tools which marketers should review when developing their online media plans. This document gives a short introduction to each technique with examples.

1. Search engine marketing (SEM)

  • Search engine marketing (SEM) – placing messages on a search engine encouraging clickthrough to a web site when the user types a specific keyword phrase.
The two main disciplines are Search engine optimisation (SEO) to boost a companies position in the natural search listings and Paid search marketing which uses sponsored ads typically on a Pay Per Click (PPC) basis.
Search marketing is great for targeting audiences at the moment of intent. It can help create a level playing field where small companies are listed alongside well-known brands to increase their awareness and drive response. That’s if the small companies can get SEO right or afford to compete in paid search.
Ultralase example of SEM.


Definition for Search engine optimisation (SEO): A structured approach used to increase the position of a company or its products in search engine natural or organic results listings for selected keyword phrases. Main techniques involve targeting keyphrases to rank within site copy and through linking strategies. No cost per click!
Definition for Pay Per Click (PPC) search marketing, e.g. Google AdWords A relevant text ad with a link to a company page is displayed when the user of a search engine types in a specific phrase. A fee is charged for every click of each link, with the amount bid for the click and its Quality Score determining its position. Trusted feed is the uploading of product data to a Product Comparison engine such as Google Product Search (Froogle).

2. Online PR

  • Online PR – Maximising favourable mentions of your company, brands, products or web sites on a range of third party web sites such as media sites, social networks and blogs, which are likely to be visited by your target audience.
Online PR can offer a low-cost route to increase awareness of your brand, it can also help attract visitors and increases backlinks to a site, which is useful for SEO.
Definition for Online PR Maximising favourable mentions of your company, brands, products or web sites on third party web sites which are likely to be visited by your target audience. Includes use of blogs (online diaries, RSS (Really Simple Syndication feeds) and Web 2.0 social media techniques (C2C = Customer to Customer). Also requires managing negative comments about a company within social networks by monitoring and responding as appropriate. Closely related to viral marketing.

3. Online partnerships

  • Online Partnerships - Creating and managing long term arrangements to promote your online services on third party web site or e-mail communications. Different forms of partnership include link building, affiliate marketing, online sponsorship and co-branding.
Smart online marketers realise the value of partnerships in extending their reach into their audiences via other sites.
Ultralase example of affiliate marketing
This affiliate is a forum discussing laser eye surgery. It is prominent in the natural listings. Ultralase has a banner on every page as shown, helping awareness and driving response.

 Definition for Affiliate marketing A commission based arrangement where referring sites (publishers) receive a commission on sales, leads or visits by merchants (retailers)’.

4. Interactive advertising

  • Interactive advertising - Use of online display ads such as banners, skyscrapers and rich media ads to achieve brand awareness and encourage clickthrough to a target site.
Ultralase example of Online advertising
Ultralase advertises extensively online. They have found that if they reduce spend it reduces awareness resulting in poorer results from natural search.

Ultralase Advertising
  • Definition for Interactive advertising* All types of advertising through the Web, wireless and interactive television. Interactive advertising can include banners, site sponsorships, email ads, PPC search engine ads and classified ads.
Definition for Online sponsorship Linking of a brand with related content or context through sponsored graphical or text links for the purpose of creating brand awareness, favourability and/or response.

5. Email Marketing

  • Opt-in e-mail – Renting opt-in e-mail lists, placing ads in third-party e-newsletters, making deals with third parties for co-registration or co-branding of e-mails, or building your own in-house e-mail list and sending e-newsletters or email campaigns.
The main aims of email marketing for acquisition is to generate awareness of brands or offerings or direct response to achieve registration or leads.
Definition for Email marketing The use of outbound email marketing to achieve awareness, add value or achieve response

6. Viral marketing

  • Viral marketing – Viral marketing is effectively online word of mouth – messages are forward to help achieve awareness. The message either contains or has a link to a site containing videos, pictures, games, jokes, information
Definition Online viral marketing Word of mouth, online. Viral marketing uses a powerful offer to be transmitted amongst a network of people via electronic media to reach a large audience cost effectively to generate prospects, build brand awareness and so increase sales

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Thursday, October 7, 2010

What is Robots.txt




Robots.txt

It is great when search engines frequently visit your site and index your content but often there are cases when indexing parts of your online content is not what you want. For instance, if you have two versions of a page (one for viewing in the browser and one for printing), you'd rather have the printing version excluded from crawling, otherwise you risk being imposed a duplicate content penalty. Also, if you happen to have sensitive data on your site that you do not want the world to see, you will also prefer that search engines do not index these pages (although in this case the only sure way for not indexing sensitive data is to keep it offline on a separate machine). Additionally, if you want to save some bandwidth by excluding images, stylesheets and javascript from indexing, you also need a way to tell spiders to keep away from these items.

One way to tell search engines which files and folders on your Web site to avoid is with the use of the Robots metatag. But since not all search engines read metatags, the Robots matatag can simply go unnoticed. A better way to inform search engines about your will is to use a robots.txt file.

What Is Robots.txt?

Robots.txt is a text (not html) file you put on your site to tell search robots which pages you would like them not to visit. Robots.txt is by no means mandatory for search engines but generally search engines obey what they are asked not to do. It is important to clarify that robots.txt is not a way from preventing search engines from crawling your site (i.e. it is not a firewall, or a kind of password protection) and the fact that you put a robots.txt file is something like putting a note “Please, do not enter” on an unlocked door – e.g. you cannot prevent thieves from coming in but the good guys will not open to door and enter. That is why we say that if you have really sen sitive data, it is too naïve to rely on robots.txt to protect it from being indexed and displayed in search results.

The location of robots.txt is very important. It must be in the main directory because otherwise user agents (search engines) will not be able to find it – they do not search the whole site for a file named robots.txt. Instead, they look first in the main directory (i.e. http://mydomain.com/robots.txt) and if they don't find it there, they simply assume that this site does not have a robots.txt file and therefore they index everything they find along the way. So, if you don't put robots.txt in the right place, do not be surprised that search engines index your whole site.

The concept and structure of robots.txt has been developed more than a decade ago and if you are interested to learn more about it, visit http://www.robotstxt.org/ or you can go straight to the Standard for Robot Exclusion because in this article we will deal only with the most important aspects of a robots.txt file. Next we will continue with the structure a robots.txt file.
Structure of a Robots.txt File

The structure of a robots.txt is pretty simple (and barely flexible) – it is an endless list of user agents and disallowed files and directories. Basically, the syntax is as follows:

User-agent:

Disallow:

“User-agent” are search engines' crawlers and disallow: lists the files and directories to be excluded from indexing. In addition to “user-agent:” and “disallow:” entries, you can include comment lines – just put the # sign at the beginning of the line:

# All user agents are disallowed to see the /temp directory.

User-agent: *

Disallow: /temp/
The Traps of a Robots.txt File

When you start making complicated files – i.e. you decide to allow different user agents access to different directories – problems can start, if you do not pay special attention to the traps of a robots.txt file. Common mistakes include typos and contradicting directives. Typos are misspelled user-agents, directories, missing colons after User-agent and Disallow, etc. Typos can be tricky to find but in some cases validation tools help.

The more serious problem is with logical errors. For instance:

User-agent: *

Disallow: /temp/

User-agent: Googlebot

Disallow: /images/

Disallow: /temp/

Disallow: /cgi-bin/

The above example is from a robots.txt that allows all agents to access everything on the site except the /temp directory. Up to here it is fine but later on there is another record that specifies more restrictive terms for Googlebot. When Googlebot starts reading robots.txt, it will see that all user agents (including Googlebot itself) are allowed to all folders except /temp/. This is enough for Googlebot to know, so it will not read the file to the end and will index everything except /temp/ - including /images/ and /cgi-bin/, which you think you have told it not to touch. You see, the structure of a robots.txt file is simple but still serious mistakes can be made easily.

Tools to Generate and Validate a Robots.txt File

Having in mind the simple syntax of a robots.txt file, you can always read it to see if everything is OK but it is much easier to use a validator, like this one: http://tool.motoricerca.info/robots-checker.phtml. These tools report about common mistakes like missing slashes or colons, which if not detected compromise your efforts. For instance, if you have typed:

User agent: *

Disallow: /temp/

this is wrong because there is no slash between “user” and “agent” and the syntax is incorrect.

In those cases, when you have a complex robots.txt file – i.e. you give different instructions to different user agents or you have a long list of directories and subdirectories to exclude, writing the file manually can be a real pain. But do not worry – there are tools that will generate the file for you. What is more, there are visual tools that allow to point and select which files and folders are to be excluded. But even if you do not feel like buying a graphical tool for robots.txt generation, there are online tools to assist you. For instance, the Server-Side Robots Generator offers a dropdown list of user agents and a text box for you to list the files you don't want indexed. Honestly, it is not much of a help, unless you want to set specific rules for different search engines because in any case it is up to you to type the list of directories but is more than nothing.
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Important Tips For Creating a Seo friendly website




Step 1. Website analysis - analyse your website thoroughly before publishing it.


Step 2. Keyword Research - use Google Adwords to find good keywords with low competition.


Step 3. Google Webmaster Tools account - setup & monitor progress.


Step 4. Add Emphasis with Header Tags - try to use h1-h5 header tags to make content stand out.


Step 5. Bold font - make important things stand out by making them bold.


Step 6. Canonicalization - avoid duplicate content using Google's new meta tag.


Step 7. Competition Analysis - check out what your competition has.


Step 8. CSS Validation - make sure your CSS is perfect before publishing.


Step 9. HTML Code Clean Up & Optimization - make it perfect!


Step 10. Image & Hyper link Optimization - very important that your hyper links are accurate and descriptive.


Step 11. Link Validation - validate every internal link on your site!


Step 12. Meta Description Tag Optimization - make your description short, informative and to the point.


Step 13. Meta Keywords Tags Optimization - Google do not actually use the meta keywords tag what so ever so save yourself some time and don't make one!

Step 14. Navigation & Design Optimization - if your navigation is faulty, people won't use your site.

Step 15. PR Sculpting - PR is really not that important if you don't care about link juice.

Step 16. Robots.txt Optimization - use Google web master tools if you don't know how to make a robots.txt


Step 17. Title Tag Optimization - remember that the title is what Google will display for your search results!


Step 18. URL Rewrite - use important keywords in the links itself!

Step 19. W3C Validation - validate your sites content!


Step 20. Link Development - develop backlinks to improve your own PR and ranking.
Post on forums such as this one, Digital Point and V7N to receive easy backlinks.

Step 21. Check Broken Links - ensure that you don't have broken links (dead links)!


Step 22. Directory Submissions - submit your site to directories for easy backlinks!


Step 23. Internal Link Structuring - use a hierarchical structure for your folders if you don't know otherwise!


Step 24. Manual Link Request to Related Sites - swap links with your competition!

Step 25. One way links - purchase one way links from PR4 sites or greater.
Directories - Easy to find, easy to buy links on!

Step 26. Count Backlinks - ensure your backlinks are steadily increasing using a backlink checker.


Step 27. Local Search Engine Optimization - make sure that Google list your site locally if you are a local business!

Step 28. Website Usability & Conversion - calculate your conversion rate, then improve it.
Number of visitors divided by the number of sales eg. 100 visitors and 5 sales = 100/5 = 5% conversion rate.

Step 29. Installing Usability Tools on Website - easier it is, the more likely users will return!

Step 30. Monthly Website Conversion Tracking - ensure your website is working and profitable!
Number of visitors divided by of sales eg 50 visitors and 5 sales = 50/5 = 10% conversion rate.

Step 31. Optimization for Multiple Browsers - it may look good in your browser but not in others.


Step 32. Article Submission - submit articles containing your link to article directories!

Step 33. Blog Comment on Relevant Blogs - high PR blogs are a great source of backlinks.

Step 34. Blog Designing for the website - create a blog about your website and fill it with content.

Step 35. Blog Submission - submit your blog to directories and ping it ever once and a while.


Step 36. Classified submission - submit your site to free classified ads!


Step 37. Create Promotional pages on hub pages - quick and easy!


Step 38. Social Network Marketing - take advantage of groups catered to your niche.


Step 39. Paid Submission - pay someone to submit your site to directories for you!


Step 40. Press Release - create a press release and submit it.


Step 41. RSS Feeds - submit RSS feeds!


Step 42. Social Bookmarking - Pligg sites are a great way to get quick backlinks for free.


Step 43. Video Submission - use videos on sites such as youtube to promote your site or product!


Step 44. Content Writing & Optimization - optimize your content for your keywords/niche.

Step 45. Blog Writing - fill your blog with quality information.

Step 46. Content Modification - if someone else's is better, beat them with better content.

Step 47. Website Spell Check - this is crucial, never publish without a spell check first!


Step 48. XML Site Map Creation & Submission - create a sitemap and upload if to your site then submit it to the search engines!


Step 49. Check server headers - make sure people can access your site without errors.


Step 50. Check Search Engine Road Blocks - web master tools will inform you of crawling errors.


Step 51. Check PR of site to see how you are doing!

10 Important Web Design Tips For a SEO Friendly Website

1. Avoid creating menu on the left-hand side of a website. If unavoidable, an alternative way is to put some text with rich keywords at the top or above the left-hand menu so that this text will be the first thing to read by search engines.
2. Headlines are rated more important than the rest of the web page by search engines. To take advantage of this, you should have your keywords in the page headline. Since the header tag (h1) is quite large, you should format it to make it smaller.
3. Every page should contain the "title" and "description" tags with good keywords to describe the page content. The number of words for the title should not exceed 9 and that for the description should not be more than 20 words in order to keep within the limits of most search engines.
4. Try not to use Flash when possible. Flash cannot be read by the search engines to date and will cause slow page loading time and makes people run away
5. Think twice on how to use graphics. Make them relevant to your content and use an Alt tag containing the relevant keyword(s).
6. Do not only use images to link out. You should always use text links to link out to important content on your web site. Spiders can follow image links, but like text links more though.
7. Avoid using frames. Some search engines cannot spider web pages with frames at all. For the other search engines that can, they can have problems spidering it and sometimes they too cannot index the web page.
8. Avoid using too complex tables when laying out your page but to keep them simple for the spiders. There are some engines which find it difficult to navigate through to the other pages on your website if the navigation bar is too complicated.
9. Use external Cascading Style Sheets and Java Script files to reduce page size and make the download time much faster. It will allow the spider to index your web page faster and can help your ranking.
10. Use standard HTML. Software such as FrontPage, Dreamweaver or a WYSIWYG editor will often add unnecessary scripting codes that will make the page larger than it needed and make it harder to crawl. It will sometimes add codes that can't be read by search engines, causing the spider not to index the page or not index the whole web page. If to use, you should use those web page creator software wisely with a good understanding of html.

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10 Ways to Get Traffic




Getting traffic is one of the most important tasks for any web master. What is more, you can't get traffic once and then just reap the benefits. Getting traffic is an ongoing task and you must be constantly doing it, if you want to get traffic and keep it. Here are some of the ways to get traffic for free:


1 Optimize your site for search engines.


Search engines have always been a major way to get traffic for free. That is why you need to do your homework and optimize your site so that it ranks well for the keywords you target. SEO is still the most powerful way to get traffic for free and you really need to invest some time and efforts in the optimization of your site. SEO is not that difficult and if you want to get familiar with it in a nutshell, check our SEO Tutorial. If you are too busy for that, you can start with the 15 Minute SEO article.


2
Frequently update the contents of your site. .


If you expected some shocking secrets revealed, you might be a bit disappointed. One of the first steps in getting traffic for free is trivial but vital – get great content and frequently update it. In terms of SEO, content is king. If your content is good and frequently updated you will not only build a loyal audience of recurring visitors, who will often come to see what is new, but search engines will also love your site.


3 Take advantage of social bookmarking sites.


Social bookmarking sites (especially the most popular among them) are another powerful way to get traffic for free. If you want to learn how to do it, check the How to get Traffic from Social Bookmarking sites article, where we have explained what to do if you want to get free traffic from sites such as Digg, Delicious, etc.


4 Use your Twitter and Facebook accounts.


Social networks are also a way to get traffic for free. If you are popular on networks, such as Twitter or Facebook, the traffic you get from there can easily surpass the traffic from Google and the other search engines. It is true that building a large network of targeted followers on Twitter and supporters on Facebook takes a lot of time and effort but generally the result is worth.


5 Get links with other sites in your niche.


Another way to get traffic for free is from other sites in your niche. Getting links with other sites in your niche is also good for SEO, especially if you manage to get links without the famous nofollow attribute. But even if the links are nofollow (i.e. they are useless for SEO), they still help to get traffic to your site. If you manage to put your link in a visible place on a site with high volumes of traffic, you can get thousands of hits from this link alone. If you need list of sites within your niche where you could get backlinks from, check the Backlink Builder tool. However, be careful if you exchange links because linking to bad neighbors can do you a lot of harm.


6 Use any chance to promote your site for free.


Free promotion is always welcome, so don't neglect it. There are many ways to promote your site for free and some of the most popular ones include free classified ads, submissions to directories, inclusion in various listings, etc. It is true that not all free ways to promote your site work well but if you select the right places to promote your site for free, this can also result in tons of traffic.


7 Create a free product or service.


Content drives most traffic when you offer something useful. There are many types of useful content you can create and they largely depend on the niche of your site. You can have articles with tons of advice, or short tips but one of the most powerful ways to get traffic is to create a free product or service. When this product or service gets popular and people start visiting your site, chances are that they will visit the other sections of the site as well.


8 Use viral content.


Free products and services are great for getting free traffic to your site and one of the best varieties in this aspect is viral content. Viral content is called so because it distributes like a virus – i.e. when users like your content, they send it to their friends, post it on various sites, and promote it for free in many different ways. Viral content distributes on its own and your only task is to create it and submit it to a couple of popular sites. After that users pick it and distribute it for you. Viral content can be a hot video or a presentation but it can also be a good old article or an image.


9 Use offline promotion.


Offline promotion is frequently forgotten but it is also a way to get traffic for free. Yes, computers are everywhere and many people spend more time online than offline but still life hasn't moved completely on the Web. Offline promotion is also very powerful and if you know how to use it, this can also bring you many visitors. Some of the traditional offline ways to promote your site include printing its URL on your company's business cards and souvenirs or sticking it on your company vehicles. You can also start selling T-shirts and other merchandise with your logo and this way make your brand more popular.


10 Include your URL in your signature.


URLs in forum signatures are also a way to get traffic for free. There are forums, which get millions of visitors a day and if you are a popular user on such a forum, you can use this to get traffic to your site. When you post on forums and people like your posts, they tend to click the link to your site on your signature to learn more about you. In rare cases you might be able to post a deep link (i.e. a link to an internal page of the site) rather than a link to your homepage and this is also a way to focus attention to a particular page. Unfortunately, deep links are rarely allowed.


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Tuesday, October 5, 2010

How to Build Backlinks



It is out of question that quality backlinks are crucial to SEO success. More, the question is how to get them. While with on-page content optimization it seems easier because everything is up to you to do and decide, with backlinks it looks like you have to rely on others to work for your success. Well, this is partially true because while backlinks are links that start on another site and point to yours, you can discuss with the Web master of the other site details like the anchor text, for example. Yes, it is not the same as administering your own sites – i.e. you do not have total control over backlinks – but still there are many aspects that can be negotiated.

Getting Backlinks the Natural Way

The idea behind including backlinks as part of the page rank algorithm is that if a page is good, people will start linking to it. And the more backlinks a page has, the better. But in practice it is not exactly like this. Or at least you cannot always rely on the fact that your contents is good and people will link to you. Yes, if your content is good and relevant you can get a lot of quality backlinks, including from sites with similar topic as yours (and these are the most valuable kind of backlinks, especially if the anchor text contains your keywords) but what you get without efforts could be less than what you need to successfully promote your site. So, you less than what you need to successfully promote your site. So, you will have to resort to other ways of acquiring quality backlinks as described next.

Ways to Build Backlinks

Even if plenty of backlinks come to your site the natural way, additional quality backlinks are always welcome and the time you spend building them is not wasted. Among the acceptable ways of building quality backlinks are getting listed in directories, posting in forums, blogs and article directories. The unacceptable ways include inter-linking (linking from one site to another site, which is owned by the same owner or exists mainly for the purpose to be a link farm), linking to spam sites or sites that host any kind of illegal content, purchasing links in bulk, linking to link farms, etc.

The first step in building backlinks is to find the places from which you can get quality backlinks. A valuable assistant in this process is the Backlink Builder tool. When you enter the keywords of your choice, the Backlink Builder tool gives you a list of sites where you can post an article, message, posting, or simply a backlink to your site. After you have the list of potential backlink partners, it is up to you to visit each of the sites and post your content with the backlink to your site in it.

You might wonder why sites as those, listed by the Backlink Builder tool provide such a precious asset as backlinks for free. The answer is simple – they need content for their site. When you post an article, or submit a link to your site, you do not get paid for this. You provide them for free with something they need – content – and in return they also provide you for free with something you need – quality backlinks. It is a free trade, as long as the sites you post your content or links are respected and you don't post fake links or content.

Getting Listed in Directories

If you are serious about your Web presence, getting listed in directories like DMOZ and Yahoo is a must – not only because this is a way to get some quality backlinks for free, but also because this way you are easily noticed by both search engines and potential visitors. Generally inclusion in search directories is free but the drawback is that sometimes you have to wait a couple of months before you get listed in the categories of your choice. 

Forums and Article Directories 

Generally search engines index forums so posting in forums and blogs is also a way to get quality backlinks with the anchor text you want. If the forum or blog is a respected one, a backlink is valuable. However, in some cases the forum or blog administrator can edit your post, or even delete it if it does not fit into the forum or blog policy. Also, sometimes administrators do not allow links in posts, unless they are relevant ones. In some rare cases (which are more an exception than a rule) the owner of a forum or a blog would have banned search engines from indexing it and in this case posting backlinks there is pointless.
While forum postings can be short and do not require much effort, submitting articles to directories can be more time-consuming because generally articles are longer than posts and need careful thinking while writing them. But it is also worth and it is not so difficult to do.

Content Exchange and Affiliate Programs

Content exchange and affiliate programs are similar to the previous method of getting quality backlinks. For instance, you can offer to interested sites RSS feeds for free. When the other site publishes your RSS feed, you will get a backlink to your site and potentially a lot of visitors, who will come to your site for more details about the headline and the abstract they read on the other site.
Affiliate programs are also good for getting more visitors (and buyers) and for building quality backlinks but they tend to be an expensive way because generally the affiliate commission is in the range of 10 to 30 %. But if you have an affiliate program anyway, why not use it to get some more quality backlinks?

News Announcements and Press Releases

Although this is hardly an everyday way to build backlinks, it is an approach that gives good results, if handled properly. There are many sites (for instance, here is a list of some of them) that publish for free or for a fee news announcements and press releases. A professionally written press release about an important event can bring you many, many visitors and the backlink from a respected site to yours is a good boost to your SEO efforts. The tricky part is that you cannot release press releases if there is nothing newsworthy. That is why we say that news announcements and press releases are not a commodity way to build backlinks. 


Backlink Building Practices to Avoid

One of the practices that is to be avoided is link exchange. There are many programs, which offer to barter links. The principle is simple – you put a link to a site, they put a backlink to your site. There are a couple of important things to consider with link exchange programs. First, take care about the ratio between outbound and inbound links. If your outbound links are times your inbound, this is bad. Second (and more important) is the risk that your link exchange partners are link farms. If this is the case, you could even be banned from search engines, so it is too risky to indulge in link exchange programs.

Linking to suspicious places is something else that you must avoid. While it is true that search engines do not punish you if you have backlinks from such places because it is supposed that you have no control over what bad guys link to, if you enter a link exchange program with the so called bad neighbors and you link to them, this can be disastrous to your SEO efforts. For more details about bad neighbors, check the Bad Neighborhood article. Also, beware of getting tons of links in a short period of time because this still looks artificial and suspicious.  








 

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